Skip links and keyboard navigation

Local government elections are held every four years. The Electoral Commission of Queensland is an independent and impartial body set up to ensure free and democratic elections in Queensland, including any local government elections.

The local government elections are run by a returning officer. The returning officer is responsible for the proper conduct of an election.

The Electoral Commission of Queensland will appoint a returning officer for each local government election.

The last local government election was held on Saturday, 19 March 2016.

Social media